KMG Level Journey Poster (1200x856) 30%


Krav Maga Global Curriculum

You are learning from the Krav Maga Global curriculum taught in all Krav Maga Global schools around the world (over 60-countries to date). This curriculum has been designed by Eyal Yanilov. It evolved from the original curriculum designed by Imi Lichtenfeld founder of Krav Maga and Eyal Yanilov his head instructor. It holds true to Imi's original principles but is continually refined to ensure it meets modern self defence problems and latest best practice in self defence and fitness training.

Krav Maga Global Levels

Master the Krav Maga Global curriculum by progressing through the KMG levels.

  • Practitioner Levels: The first Krav Maga Global levels are called the "Practitioner" levels. There are 5 Practitioner levels (numbered 1 to 5) , the first of which is Practitioner 1 (P1).
  • Graduate Levels: Next are the "Graduate" levels and there are 5 of these (G1 to G5). The minimum level for a Krav Maga Global instructor is G1.
  • Expert Levels: These are followed by the "Expert" levels (E1 to E5)
  • Master Levels: These are the highest possible levels. The highest grade presently is Master Eyal Yanilov himself at Master Level 3.
Diploma & Patches (600x600) 30%

Upcoming Krav Maga Global Testing Dates

Sat Aug-22nd

Levels: Practitioner 1 to Practitioner 4

Location: Krav Maga Global - Auckland Central

Timing: Afternoon

Sat Nov-21st

Levels: Practitioner 1 to Graduate 1

Location: Krav Maga Global - Auckland Central

Timing: Afternoon

See further down this page how Testing works and how to be successful....

Upcoming Krav Maga Pre-Testing Dates

In these sessions the instructor will cover all techniques in the curriculum for the designated level... these sessions are open to all members regardless of level.

It takes 1.5-2hr to go through all the techniques in each level so these sessions replace the 6-7 & 7-8pm classes.

KMG Auckland Central

Wed 8th-Jul, 6-8pm (P1)

Wed 15th-Jul, 6-8pm (P2)

Wed 22rd-Jul, 6-8pm (P3)

Wed 29th-Jul, 6-8pm (P4)

KMG North Shore

Thu 9th-Jul, 6-8pm (P1)

Thu 16th-Jul, 6-8pm (P2)

Thu 23rd-Jul, 6-8pm (P3)

Thu 30th-Jul, 6-8pm (P4)

Krav Maga Diplomas and Patches

We do not wear gis and belts in Krav Maga as Krav Maga has not evolved from the Asian martial arts. Therefore your grades is recognised by diplomas and patches.

The picture at the top of the page shows the patches for each grade. These are sewn to the right leg of the shorts. The picture here shows the KMG diploma you will earn when you pass each level.

All Krav Maga Global grades earned in New Zealand are recognised in any Krav Maga Global club in the world (and we recognise any Krav Maga Global grade earned in another country) as all Krav Maga Global clubs set the same high standards for members and teach the same curriculum in the same way.

Krav Maga Grading Success

Krav Maga Grade Testing

Mastering the Krav Maga techniques and tactics to the required standards should be one of your key objectives as a member. This is achieved by passing a formal test or grading.

It takes about 6-months of regular training to learn the techniques in each level so we set 3-4 testing days throughout the year you can prepare for. Passing your Krav Maga test simply involves demonstrating to the testing team (Krav Maga Instructors) your competence in the techniques in your level (and any levels you have passed previously).

May-18 Grading Bertrand P2 (1200x676) 30%

How to be Successful in Your Krav Maga Test

  1. Train regularly
  2. Know what techniques are in your level
  3. Seek to understand the key points of those techniques and strive for excellence in your training
  4. Reinforce your club training by reviewing our online training
May-18 P2 Members and Dilplomas

Krav Maga Global Testing Q & A

How Do I Know What I Need to Learn? 
  • Check curriculum and videos on the Krav Maga Online Training Portal and in particular review those techniques you are less familiar and/or need to practice the most.
  • Download a copy of the Krav Maga Global curriculum for your level and become familiar with the techniques;
  • Come to the "Pre-testing" lessons where we cover all the techniques in each level

When am I Allowed to Test? 
  • It takes a minimum of 4 months & normally about 6-months of regular training to be ready for Practitioner 1 (P1).
  • After Practitoner 1 the minimum training time between tests is 6-months (e.g., P1 to P2, P3 to P3...)
How Will I Know if I'm Ready to Test?

You should only test if you are ready, e.g.,..

(i) You are familiar with all the techniques in your level and the key points;

(ii) You have practiced them and can perform them without having to be shown how to do them;

(ii) You have come to pre-testing classes and have been assessed to be ready.

What Happens in Testing?

(i) All members testing for a particular level are put into a group.

(ii) We ask the group to perform the techniques and we assess your performance

(ii) If you score over 85% then you have passed your level.

What Happens When I Pass the Test?

When you pass you will be awarded a Krav Maga Gobal diploma for your level. You will also receive a "patch" for your new level to sew on your Krav Maga trousers.

The clock then starts ticking for your new level so if you are keen to pass through the levels quickly you need to set you new goal and keep training hard and you will be able to sit your next test in 6-months.

What Happens if I do Not Pass the Test?

You will receive feedback on the techniques you need to work on... you will be given some time to practice these techniques and then we will reassess you on them. Should you perform them satisfactorily the second time you will then be awarded your diploma.